Announcing: A Collective Study of The Great Steel Strike and it’s Lessons

Our collective study will be reading this text detailing the General Steel Strike of 1919, immersing in this history together, and drawing lessons from it to strengthen our organizing and struggles of today. We will gather on Zoom for two, 90 min. discussions, each discussion covering one half of the book. 

Dates and times for the discussion sessions: 

Sunday, June 23rd | Sunday, July 7th | 11:30am PST / 12:30pm MST / 1:30pm CST / 2:30pm EST / 7:30pm GMT

Join the reading group to by filling out this formhttps://www.tinyurl.com/csan-study-group

We will be studying the General Steel Strike of 1919; this strike of 365,000 steelworkers shut down the US steel industry! The strike took place alongside a wave of combative strike action amongst the U.S. and international working class following the end of WWI. It offers many lessons for us today about the necessity to challenge narrow craft unionism, fighting the bosses use of media to weaken unions and weaken strikes and other anti-union tactics, and the use of racial and national divisions to weaken the working-class. All lessons to be taken and applied to strengthen our struggles and organizing of today.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *